| India, Andhra Pradesh, Visakhapatnam. | loading ...

  • Name : Prof. G. NAGESWARA RAO
  • Designation : Vice-Chancellor
  • Phone : 91-891-2844222, 2844333 (O)
  • Fax : 91-891-2525611
  • Email : vicechancellor@andhrauniversity.edu.in


Prof. Nageswara Rao, Gollapalli, assumed the office of the Vice-Chancellor on 17th July 2016. Prof. Rao joined as faculty member in 1989 in the Department of Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry, Andhra University and became Professor in 2006.

Prof. Rao was awarded “Biotechnology National Associate” by Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India and he carried out research at the Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru during 1990-91. He worked as Post-Doctoral Research Fellow at University of Durban, South Africa during 1997-98. Andhra University conferred Best Researcher Award in 2000 and Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Best Academician Award in 2008. The Government of Andhra Pradesh conferred “State Best Teacher Award” in 2014 for his academic excellence.

As on date he successfully guided 42 Research Scholars for the award of Ph. D degrees apart from guiding 13 M. Phil students. He published 292 research papers in both national and International Journals of repute. He has participated in over 100 seminars / conferences. He has successfully completed several research projects with the funding support of the University Grants Commission, Department of Science & Technology, Govt. of India and Department of Ocean Development.

Prof. Nageswara Rao is the Editor-in-Chief for the Journal of Modern Medicinal Chemistry and acted as a reviewer for 153 papers covering 74 International Journals. He adjudicated 129 Ph. D. theses for 26 universities. He is the author of the book entitled “Computer Applications in Chemistry” published by Himalaya Publishing House, Mumbai.

During his illustrious career, Prof. Nageswara Rao has successfully steered several important positions such as Assistant Principal, College of Science & Technology (2001-2008), Chief Warden, Science Hostels (2008-2012), Head of the Department of Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry (2009-2012), Director, School of Chemistry (2013-2016), Associate Director, Directorate of Admissions (2013-16), Placement officer, Placement Cell of College of Science & Technology, Andhra University (2015-16) and In-charge Vice-chancellor of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University, Etcherla (July 2017 – December 2017).

Prof. Nageswara Rao acted as Peer Reviewer to “National Programme for Technology Enhancement Learning (NTPEL) Course” in Chemistry by IIT, Kanpur. He also acted as an Expert Committee member for assessment of Major Research Projects funded by the University Grants Commission, New Delhi.


SNo Name Designation Contact
1 Sri R. Srinivasa Rao Secretary to Vice Chancellor
(Assistant Registrar)
Sr.no Name From To
1. Dr. C.R.Reddy 26-04-1926
2. Prof. S.Radhakrishnan 01-05-1931 19-05-1936
3. Dr. V.S.Krishna 08-12-1949 16-06-1961
4. Dr. A.L.Narayana 17-06-1961 30-06-1966
5. Prof. K.R.Srinivasa Iyenger 30-06-1966 A.N. 29-11-1968
6. Sri L.Bullayya 30-11-1968 12-12-1974
7. Sri M.R.Apparow 13-12-1974 12-12-1980
8. Sri Avula Sambasiva Rao 13-12-1980 14-11-1983
9. Prof. K.Ramakrishna Rao 05-06-1984 23-03-1988
10. Prof. K.V.Ramana 24-03-1988 23-03-1991
11. Dr. M.Gopalakrishna Reddy 18-09-1991 15-09-1997
12. Prof. R.Radhakrishna 22-04-1998 04-03-2001
13. Prof. Y.C.Simhadri 03-04-2002 02-04-2005
14. Prof. L.Venu Gopal Reddy 06-05-2005 03-05-2008
15. Prof. Beela Satyanarayana 20-06-2008 19-06-2011
16. Prof. G.S.N.Raju 06-02-2013 04-02-2016
17 Prof. G. Nageswara Rao 17-07-2016 Till Date