Initiated by S.Radhakrishnan in 1932, the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies owes its origin to his creative influence with the motto ”Global Understanding with Vedantic Spirit” expressed in the writings of Padmabhushan PT Raju and Padmavibhushan K. Satchidananda Murty. Starting from its foundation head Professor Saileswar Sen, it has been one of the leading centers in India, which stood for East-West understanding and Compartive Philosophy. Scholars in the Department have carried on this tradition in a comprehensive way. Further the former teachers such as A Lakshmana Rao, BV Kishan, G Sundera Ramaiah and others wrote books on diversified fields. Starting from 1970’s, the Department is given financial assistance by the University Grants Commission, New Delhi through FIP, ULP, SAP and ASIHSS Programs, and achieved a considerable national status by conducting natinal seminars. Teachers from various states – Tripura, Assam, Orissa and Tamilnadu came and did their research leading to M.Phil and Ph.D Degrees. Read More

Courses & Quick links

Courses offered

Courses Offered No. Of Seats Available Syllabus
Ph.D. 12
M.Phil 08
M.A.(Philosophy), (2 Years) 35 M.A Philosophy Syllabus

Quick Links


Contact Us

Andhra University

Waltair Junction
Andhra Pradesh, 530003

( Phone : 089128 44000 )

Department of Philosophy

Inside INDIA prefix : 0891 284
Outside INDIA prefix : 91 891 284
Office : 4398
Head : 4399