About the College

      The College of Science & Technology was started in the year 1931 as the combined Colleges of Arts, Science and Technology and Sri. M.Venkata Rangaiah was the first Principal succeeded by many great persons like Prof.S.Bhagavantham, Prof.V.S.Krishna and Prof.K.Rangadhama Rao. In later years the combined colleges were bifurcated in the year 1966 and the College of Science & Technology was headed by Prof. R.Ramanadham as its first principal. The college has a total strength of nearly 2106 students, 800 research scholars, 100 Teaching Faculty, 40 Assistant Professors (contract), 52 Guest Faculty and 176 administrative and supporting staff. It is the biggest constituent college of the University with a teacher to student ratio of nearly 1:12.        

      The College of Science & Technology has 23 departments and organizing 50 courses covering the disciplines of Physical Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Life Sciences, Earth Sciences etc. Two former principals of the College of Science & Technology namely Prof.S.Bhagavantham (Physics Department) and Prof.C.Mahadevan (Geology Department) have obtained their Doctoral Degrees under the guidance of Sir.C.V.Raman.

       Although it is not an aggrandizement, it would be fascinating to inform the young generation that Sir.C.V.Raman, Nobel Laureate spent several days in this University discussing various aspects of research and he was a frequent Academic Visitor to the Department of Physics during 1950s. Sir.C.V.Raman has also served as Honorary Professor in the Department of Physics.

       The students of the College of Science & Technology are well disciplined and the teachers are dedicated to the cause of Teaching and Research. Very bright students from both rural and urban backgrounds join the College of Science & Technology and many students come from weaker sections of the society and at the end they become more brilliant and acquire intellectual skills to occupy higher positions in the society. Many Alumni of Andhra University have become IAS, IPS, IFS, IRS and several brilliant students have gone abroad to undertake higher studies and have settled in USA, UK, Australia and Canada.

       Some faculty members of the College of Science & Technology could win prestigious Bhatnagar Award from CSIR, Govt. of India for their excellent research contributions. Many faculty members had been to USA and UK to undertake collaborative research programmes and some faculty members could publish the results in the International Journals like NATURE.

       Late Prof.B.Ramachandra Rao, winner of Bhatnagar Award, has served as Vice Chairman of the UGC and also as member of Rajya Sabha. Professor S.V.J.Lakshman served as the Vice-Chancellor of Sri Venkateswara University and Achraya Nagarjuna University of Andhra Pradesh. Prof. M.I.Ahmed of Physics Department has functioned as Vice-Chancellor of Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Ananthapur. Prof.R.Madhavi of Zoology department has functioned as Vice-Chancellor of Sri Padmavathi Mahila University, Tirupati. Prof.A.Rama Rao, Dept. of Biochemistry, served as Vice-Chancellor of Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Ananthapur. Some Alumni of this College have reached important positions in NASA, USA. A few teachers of this Institution have been honoured with higher positions in Government/semi-government organizations. Our alumni occupy prominent positions in several fields of activity both in the country as well as abroad.

       Prof.G.Nageswara Rao of Chemistry Department is the first faculty member from the College of Science & Technology to become Vice-Chancellor of Andhra University in 2016.



This site is best viewed by Internet Explorer with 1024 * 768 Pixels in High Color (16 Bit). Site Developed & Maintained by
Copyright © 2007 Andhra University. All Rights Reserved; send your Queries/Comments to webmaster@andhrauniversity.edu.in