The Department of Mathematics was established in 1932. The then Vice Chancellor, Prof. Sarvepalli Radha Krishna was the first head of the Department. ERSKINE College of Natural SciencesProf. V. Rama Swami –a student of Littlewood and a well known analyst, Sri S. Purshottam, Prof. S. Chowla – an internationally renowned number theorist, were the founder members of faculty establishing great traditions of teaching and research.

Eminent people like Sri. M. Lakshmana Murthy; Prof. K. Nagabushanam who later founded the department of Statistics in Andhra University itself; Prof. K. Samba Siva Rao; Prof.T. Vijaya Raghavan – a student of G. H. Hardy and a founder Director of Ramanujan Institue of Mathematics at Madras; Prof. S. Minakshisundaram –an internationally reputed mathematician, and an invitee to IFAS Princeton USA who laid an important component in a new approach to the Atiya-Singer Index theorem, one of the great theorems of the 20th Centuary; Prof. N.V. Subrahmanyam who led research in various branches of Algebra, Prof. J. Gopalakrishna – a well known analyst, Dr. D. Suryanarayana, Prof. P. V. Krishnaiah, Dr. A. Sivashankara Sastry, Prof. K.P.R. Sastry, Prof. K.L.N. Swamy, Prof. P. V. Jaganadham, Dr. R. Sitharamachandra Rao, Prof. S. V. Krishna, Prof. U. M. Swamy, Prof. P.V. Ramana Murthy, Prof. M. Krishna Murthy, Prof. Sk. Ismail, Prof. G. C. Rao served this department as former faculty and some as heads as well as Chairmen for the Board of Studies of the Department.

Many other eminent personalities like Sri. G. Linga Murthy, Sri Sonti Satyanarayana Rao, Prof. T.V. Avadhani, Prof. P.S. Rao, Prof. U.V. Rama Mohana Rao, Sri B.V. Rama Sarma, Prof. Chiuvukula Ramamohan Rao, Prof. J. Chidambaraswamy, Sri V.P. Sarma, Sri K.P. Rao, Prof. U.V. Satyanarayana, Prof. K. V. Rajeswara Rao, Sri T. S. Rao, Sri. K. Madhava Sarma, Prof. D. Ramakotaiah who is well known for his work in Near ring theory and who later became a Vice chancellor for the Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur, Prof. I.H. Nagaraja Rao, Prof. I. Ramabhadra Sarma and Prof. A. Radhakrishna were faculty members of this department for short periods.

The distinguished alumni include Prof. C.R. Rao –a world renowned statistician, former Director of Indian Statistical Institute, an Eberly Professor Emeritus of Statistics, Center for Multivariate Analysis Pennsylvania State University, USA and, Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Advisor CR Rao AIMSCS, Hyderabad, India; Prof. B. L. S. Prakasa Rao -another former Director of I.S.I., Culcutta and recipient of Bhatnagar award for mathematical sciences, Prof. S. B. Rao yet another former Director of I.S.I., Culcutta, Sri R.S. Nataraja Murthy -a former Chief Post Master General of Andhra Pradesh etc..

Currently the department offers all Postgraduate programs in Mathematics namely, M.A./M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. It conducted several projects sponsored by UGC, DST and other government organizations. The department produced over 109 Ph.D.s and 100 M.Phils. in Mathematics and published approximately 800 research papers. Further, the department is fortunate to have got fifteen (15) Medals/Prizes for toppers namely Sripathi Medal, Smt. Vegesina Neelamma and Sri Pedda Subba Raju Medal, Smt. Vaddiparthi Seethamma Garu Prize, Sri Iyyasomayajula Kameswara Rao Prize, the Chevuri Sanyasi Raju Prize, Mantha Lakshmana Murthy Memorial Prize, Sri Vepa ramesam Prize, Sri Upadhyayula Venkata Subrahmanyam Memorial Prize, Prof. S. Meenakshi Sundaram Prize, Sri Tenneti Lakshminarayana Memorial medal, Prof. Nadimpally Venkata Subrahmanyam Prize, Smt. Bonda Savitri Devi Prize, Prof. Vumi Rama Swamy Gold Medal, K. L. N. Swamy Prize, U. M. Swamy Prize. Presently there are six professors and two assistant professors in the department working in the thrust areas: Ordered Algebraic Structures, Various Fuzzy Set Theories/logics and their Applications to Mathematics and Computer Science, Fixed Point theory and Approximation of fixed points, Dynamical Systems and Bio-Economics, Fuzzy Metric Spaces and Functional Analysis, Lattice Theory, Sheaf Representation of Algebras, Number Theory and Cryptography.

Courses & Quick links


Courses Offered Seats Available Syllabus
M.A / M.Sc. Mathematics 40 MSc, M.Phil., Pre-Ph. D. Syllabi (2018-2019)
M.Sc. / Mathematics Science (Self-finance) 40
M.Phil. 10
Ph.D. 10

Quick Links


Contact Us

Andhra University

Waltair Junction
Andhra Pradesh, 530003

( Phone : 089128 44000 )

Department of Mathematics

Inside INDIA prefix : 0891 284
Outside INDIA prefix : 91 891 284
Head : 4695
Office : 4694