The Microbiology Department was started in 1999-2000 as a self-financing course in the Department of Biochemistry, Andhra University, 24 students are admitted in every batch. Since then 13 batches of students have successfully completed the course. The faculty consists of Mainly well-qualified and experienced guest faculty from the Departments of Biochemistry, Botany, Zoology, Environmental Sciences, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Chemistry of Andhra University and Department of Medical Microbiology, Andhra Medical College, Visakhapatnam. The labs are fully equipped with all the instruments needed for conducting the practical for both previous and final year students.

Prof. K.P.J. Hemalatha is the Former Head of the Department and Prof. P.K.Ratna Kumar is the Present Head of the Department. The students are also trained in doing a dissertation/project work as a part of the curriculum. The students are absorbed in various pioneering research labs in Microbiology, Biochemistry, Biotechnology and industries involving pharmaceutical brewing and food.

The syllabus covers all the subjects of Microbiology with Semester end examinations pattern as per UGC Model Curriculum. The syllabus consists of 4 theory, 2 practical in each Semester and dissertation/project work to be submitted at the end of 4th Semester. The total marks are 2700.

Courses & Quick links

Courses offered

The department offers THREE Masters Programs in addition to M.Phil. and Ph.D.

Courses offered
The Department offers M.Sc. Microbiology, M.Phil. and Ph.D. in Microbiology.

The number of students admitted for M.Sc. Course is 35. For M.Sc, the admissions are done every year through selection of AUCET examinations from the candidates with B.Sc in Sciences. The 35 students are selected from total applicants. It is a self financing course and reservations apply as per the regulations. The course is semester-end pattern. The full fees should be paid at the time of admission and at the time of beginning of academic year for final year students. M.Phil and Ph.D admissions will be done as per regulations prevailing at that time. The eligibility for admission is M.Sc Microbiology, Biochemistry. Student should have passed UGC-NET JRF, AURCET, GATE, SLET etc. The admission will depend upon no. of guides available.

Quick Links


Contact Us

Andhra University

Waltair Junction
Andhra Pradesh, 530003

( Phone : 089128 44000 )

Department of Microbiology

Inside INDIA prefix : 0891 284
Outside INDIA prefix : 91 891 284
Office : 91-891-2844687
Co-ordinator : 91-891-2844688