The Department of Nuclear Physics at Andhra University is the only one of its kind in India, meant for advanced level teaching and research in Nuclear Physics. The Laboratories for Nuclear Reasearch were instituted as a part of the Physics Department in October 1954 with Professor Swami Jananananda as its founder leader. The Department was organized into a full-fledged one in 1956.Prof.V.Lakshminarayana who took the reins of the department from Prof.Swami Janananda in1969 established various fields of research in Nuclear Spectroscopy, Nuclear reactions and interaction of Gamma Radiation. He is a renowned international expert in in-beam Nuclear Spectroscopy. He was awarded the Best Teacher Award by A.P. State Government and National Lectureship by UGC.Prof.K.Venkata Reddy extended the research in Nuclear Spectroscopy using Beta Ray Spectrometers. He was awarded the Best Teacher Award by A.P. State Government. Late Prof.K.Parthasaradhi expanded the horizons of research in the interaction of Photons with Matter and is renowned expert in Radiation Physics. Prof.B.v.Tirumala Rao extended the horizons of in Beam Nuclear Spectroscopy by carrying out pioneering research at the Nuclear Science Centre, New Delhi and at University of Bonn Germany. He is instrumental in establishing a live collaboration of this department with University of Bonn Germany. His collaborative experiments carried out in Germany resulted in the observation of magnetic rotational bands in nuclei of higher spins for the first time which resulted in explaining the behaviour of nuclei at higher angular momentum. Prof.B.Mallikarjuna Rao was instrumental in starting research in applied aspects such as Radiation Oncology. The UGC recognized the Department as a centre for carrying out advanced level research in Nuclear Spectroscopy under “Departmental Support Programme”, in 1978. The Department has on its staff highly qualified teachers. Most of them gained extensive experienced in advanced laboratories in Europe and U.S.A.

There are adequate facilities for carrying out advanced level research, the most important of which are: (1) Two magnetic spectrographs for electron spectroscopy; (2) Mosssbauer Spectrometer system (3) 14 MeV neutron generator (4) Si(Li), HP Ge detectors and Scintillation spectrometers. (5) EDXRF system, (6) Positron Annihilation life time spectrometer along with PC based MCA systems have been acquired recently. Nuclear techniques are being used in diagnostic medical application(radio iodine to thyroid disorders) in collaboration with the doctors of the local hospital. They are also being used in the investigation of relative concentrations of certain ores (Mn,Cu, etc) in collaboration with the staff of the Geology Department and environmental pollution studies in air and water samples.

The Faculty are interested in training students and research scholars of high quality for taking up the teaching and research programmes in the country. Towards this end the Department has formulated a rigorous programme of training for students towards the two year M.Sc degree. The students are thoroughly trained in all basic physics subjects during first year and an intensive training is given in nuclear physics involving the general aspects in nuclear physics, nuclear Instrumentations and specialized topics in nuclear physics. The Faculty believes that works in the thrust areas, Nuclear techniques as well as in the applications of Nuclear science including other minor areas will be very essential for a balanced growth of the Department.

The members of the Department of Nuclear Physics have developed the necessary infra structure for teaching and research in nuclear physics and contributed significantly to the developmental work at the university. The number of students at postgraduate level who found employment in a number of educational institutions, R & D institutions and industrial organizations in India and abroad including employment in government and Private sectors. The Department has trained a number of scholars in research and development work. So far, 146 Ph.D./D.Sc degrees were awarded on the basis of the research work carried out in the Department, and 730 research papers were published in national and international journals. A number of students of the Department are working as Professors in India and abroad. A number of scholars who received their Ph.D./D.Sc degrees are also employed in national level institutions.

The members of the Department have extensive experience in teaching and the organization of research programmes in nuclear physics. They have also been participating in the development of necessary infrastructure and user facilities at the national accelerators (Variable Energy Cyclotron and the pelletrons at Delhi and Mumbai). They have also organized a national seminar on "Radiation Physics" in 1979 and two national seminars on "In beam Spectroscopy" in 1977 and 1987. Two national work shops were conducted in the years 1993 and 1994 - one on "Physics with recoil mass analyzers" proposed by Nuclear Science Centre, Delhi and the other on Nuclear structure sponsored by Inter University Consortium for DAE facilities, Calcutta centre. An Acquaintance program on “Inter-University Accelerator Centre (IUAC), New Delhi” at Andhra University, Visakhapatnam, 2010 was organized. BRNS –DAE Symposium of Nuclear Physics was conducted in the year 2011. Recently an Awareness workshop on “Nuclear Technologies: Powering Sustainable Development” organized by the department in collaboration with DAE-BARC, NPCIL & NFC 2015.

Courses & Quick links

Courses/Programmes Course Duration
1 M.Sc 2years (4 Semesters)
2M.Phil Full time - 1 year
Part time - 2 years
3PhD Full time - 3 years
Part time - 4 years

Quick Links


Contact Us

Andhra University

Waltair Junction
Andhra Pradesh, 530003

( Phone : 089128 44000 )

Department of Nuclear Physics

Phone : 91-0891 - 2844000
Extn. 4609