| India, Andhra Pradesh, Visakhapatnam. | loading ...

  • Name : Prof. K. Ramji
  • Designation : Head of the Department
  • Phone :(+91) 891 - 2844798, 4797
  • Email: head.mechanical@andhrauniversity.edu.in

Since the inception of the Program B.E. (Mech.) in the year 1955 along with Civil Engineering and Electrical Engineering, the department of Mechanical Engineering has been contributing its humble share of the Mechanical Engineering graduates for national needs. Several of the graduates who have passed out of this department are occupying responsible positions in various Engineering Industries like Steel Authority of India Limited, Bharat Heavy Plates and Vessels Limited, Heavy Engineering Corporation, National Mineral and Metals Development Corporation, Tata Consultancy Services, Engineers India Limited, Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited, Visakhapatnam Port Trust, Bharat Heavy Electrical Limited, Ramachandrapuram and holding responsible positions in the premier educational institutes in and outside India.

During the third plan period when several heavy Engineering industries started functioning, the need for design engineers arose both the national and state levels. Keeping this in view the department has started post graduation Program in machine design during 1963. The department has been helping the local in service diploma holders to improve their qualification since 1969, by offering B.E. (Mech.) Part Time Program. The department started a part-time diploma Program in Industrial Engineering in the year 1973 and M.E.(Ind. Engg.) Program in 1979 and subsequently introduced M.E. (Heat Transfer) Program in 1982. The Department is also the first of its kind to offer M.Tech. Program in Nano Technology in year the 2001.

On the research side the department is actively engaged in research in the areas of Heat Transfer, Machine Design, Industrial Engineering and Manufacturing. So far around 180 Ph.D's., have been awarded. The faculty members have published about 750 technical papers in national and international seminars and journals of repute. Apart from academics the department is also active in research and doing number of research projects and also provides consultancy services to Hindustan Shipyard Limited, Hindustan Zinc Limited, Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited, Ramachandrapuram, Visakhapatnam Steel Plant, Dredging Corporation of India, Naval Science Technological Laboratories, Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited, Visakhapatnam Port Trust etc.

The Department is recognized by DST under DST-FIST, UGC under UGC-SAP and also by AICTE under AICTE-MORDROPS

Sl.No Name of the Program
UG Programmes
1 B.Tech. (Mechanical Engineering)
PG Programmes
1 M.Tech. (Machine Design)
2 M.Tech. (Industrial Engineering)
3 M.Tech. (Heat Power Engineering)
4 M.Tech. (Nano Technology)
Doctoral Programmes
1 Ph.D. (Mechanical Engineering)

Name Designation Qualification Specialization
Prof. K. Venkata Subbaiah Senior Professor (On lien Vice Chancellor JNTU-GV)

Ph.D. Industrial Engg.
Prof. V.V.S. Kesava Rao Professor
Ph.D. Industrial Engg.
Prof. K. Ramji Professor & Head of the Department
Ph.D. Machine Design
Prof. V. Vijaya Babu Professor Ph.D. Industrial Engg.
Prof. P. Srinivasa Rao Professor & BOS, Chairman Ph.D. Machine Design
Prof. N. Ramanaiah Professor Ph.D. Production
Prof. Ch. Srinivasa Rao Professor &
Dean, Transport
Ph.D. Production
Prof. P. Srinivas Kishore Professor Ph.D. Thermal Engg.
Prof. K. T.Balaram Padal Professor Ph.D. Machine Design
Prof. L.S.V. Prasad Professor & Vice Principal Ph.D. Thermal Engg.
Prof. R. Madhusudhan Professor Ph.D. Production
Sri. P.Venkateswara Rao Associate Professor M.Tech. Thermal Engg.
Dr. K.N.S. Suman Associate Professor Ph.D. Production
Dr. G. Rambabu Associate Professor & Assistant Principal /td> Ph.D. Industrial Engg.
Dr. M.V. Jagannadha Raju Associate Professor Ph.D. Production
Name Designation
Prof. Beela Satyanarayana Emeritus Professor
Prof. S. Narayana Rao Adjunct Professor
Dr C.V Gopinath Adjunct Professor