Prof. Prattipati Subhashini Devi
  • Name : Dr. P. Subhashini Devi
  • Designation : Head of the Department (I/C)
  • Phone : +91-891-2844569, 4570
  • Email:

The Department of Environmental Sciences is established in 1976 as a part of the College of Science & Technology. It is one of the first three University departments in India to have started Post-graduate, M.Phil and Ph.D programs in Environmental Sciences. The Department is the first in Andhra Pradesh to have started M.Sc. in Environmental Sciences. The program has been designed to provide strong foundation and expertise to the students on various sciences related to the management and monitoring of the environment as well as the tools required to take up the challenges of extending Environmental Education to all levels from schools to colleges as envisaged in Supreme Court directive to Central Government, State Governments and Educational Institutions.

Ever since its inception, the Department has been doing research work in Eco-physiology, Aerobiology, Plant Reproductive Ecology, Coastal Wetland Ecology, Herpetology, Cheloniology, Environmental Pollution, Environmental Microbiology, Biodiversity Conservation and Management, and Sustainable Use of Natural Ecosystems in the Eastern Ghats belt of India.

Further, the Department has been continuously engaged in Extension work and Consultancy Projects and organizing training events in Environmental Management in forest, rural and urban ecosystems. The Department has organized and has been organizing several National Seminars/Workshops/conferences.

The faculty of the Department has successfully completed several Major Research Projects funded by University Grants Commission (UGC), Department of Science & Technology (DST), Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR), Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change (MoEFCC), Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), Department of Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) and Department of Ocean Development (DOD) and also All India Co-ordinated Research Projects funded by MoEFCC.

The faculty of the Department served on National Level Expert Group Committees and Program Advisory Committes of MoEFCC, University-level Selection Committees for the selection of faculty in different Universities and Andhra Pradesh State Pollution Control Board. Further, the faculty also served as Expert Referees for various National and International Impact Factor and UGC Care-Listed Journals. A few faculty members received University and State-level Awards in recognition of their outstandidng in various subjects of Environmental Sciences. A faculty member received UGC BSR Faculty One-Time Grant Award and Mid-Career Award. The faculty also published books on different subjects.

The Department has been very active in research activities and has collaborations with local industries in connection with consultancy projects. A total of 231 Ph.D degrees and 37 M.Phil degrees were awarded so far.

EDUCATIONAL: The department has started P.G Program in 1976

Succession List of Faculty since the inception of this Department

1. Prof. P.V. Bhairava Murthy (Retired)
2. Prof. M.V. Subba Rao (Retired)
3. Prof. C. Subba Reddi (Retired)
4. Prof. K. Kameswara Rao (Retired)
5. Prof. P.V.V. Prasada Rao (Retired)
6. Prof. E.U.B. Reddi (Retired)
7. Prof. P.S. Rajasekhar (Retired)
8. Prof. T. Byragi Reddy (Retired)
9. Prof. A.J. Solomon Raju (Retired)


Sl.No Name of the Program
PG Programmes
1 M.Sc. (Environmental Science)
Doctoral Programmes
1 Ph.D. (Environmental Science)

Name Designation Qualification
Dr. V. Hema Sailaja Professor (IOCL-Chair) Ph.D.
Prof. K. Veerabhadram Professor (A) BOS, Chairman (I/C); Environmental Sciences Ph.D.
Prof. D.Vijaya Kumar Professor (A) Ph.D.
Prof. A.J. Solomon Raju Professor (H) Ph.D.
  1. Visakhapatnam Port Trust
  2. Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation
  3. Visakhapatnam Steel Plant
  4. Reddy's Laboratories
  5. Arabindo Pharma Company
  6. Brandix
  7. CETP Ramky Parma
  8. Sai Life Sciences
  9. Omega Health Care
  10. Garmin Private Limited
  11. Vasudha Pharma Chemical Limited
  12. Navionics Technologies Pvt. Ltd.,
  13. Tirumalavasa Educational Society
  14. Envision Wind Power Technologies India Pvt. Ltd.,
  15. Coastal Mining Consultancy
  16. NIJJI HEALTH CARE Pvt. Ltd.,
  17. Pulsus Healthtech
  18. NG Magnus Group
  19. Hetero Drugs Pharmaceutical Company
  20. A.P.Pollution Control Board
  21. Vimta Labs
  22. S.V. Enviro Labs
S. No. Name of the distinguished Alumni Designation Work address
1Prof. E.U.B. Reddi Retired Professor Department of Environmental Sciences, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam
2Smt. B. Udaya Lakshmi I.A.S. Secretary to Government of Andhra Pradesh, BCWD & BIE, Andhra Pradesh
3Sri P. Vijaya Anand I.P.S. Kerala Cadre, Commissioner of Police, Trivandrum, Kerala
4Ms. B. Raj Kumari I.P.S. Rural S.P. Rajahmundry, Andhra Pradesh
5Dr.P.V.Chalapathi Rao I.F.S. Special Secretary, Ministry of Science & Environmental Technology (PCCF Rank)
6Dr. Ratnaker Jauhari I.F.S. Director, Telangana State Biodiversity Board
7Dr.M.V.Sivaram I.F.S. Conservator of Forest
8Dr.V.Sai Babu I.F.S. DFO, Head quarters, Mangalagiri
9Dr. Shanti Priya Pandey I.F.S. Director, Zoo's, Andhra Pradesh, India
10Dr. E. Ashok Director Environment & Social governance, National Infrastructure Fund, New Delhi
11Sri. E. Ashok Senior Environment Officer International Development Bank of India (IDBI)
11Sri. E. Ashok Senior Environment Officer International Development Bank of India (IDBI)
12Dr. P. Appala Raju General Manager Environment, SGS Laboratories International, Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
13Dr. A. Eswar Regional Manager Syndicate Bank, Dabagardens, Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
14Prof. N.Srinivas Director Center for Climate Change and Disaster Management, Department of Environmental Sciences, GITAM University
15Dr. G.V.V.S. Prasad Sr. Environmental Officer National Hydroelectric Power Corporation

    World Ozone Day Rally to create awarness to public how ozone layer is getting depleted

    Vizag Steel Plant Industrial Visit

    Seminars in National Zoo Park Vizag

    National Seminar on Environmental Challenges and Management

    Industrial Visit to Coramandal Fertilizers

    16th UGC -NRCBS Winter School

    Honey Collection in Boxes in Araku

    Environment Day Tree Plantation

    Environmental Awareness in Schools - 2022

    Ecotourism to Appikonda-2022

    Industrial Visit to CMPV Ramky

    Industrial Visit to Brandix

    Biodiversity Park Visit

    Beach Cleaning Programme

    Other Co Circullar Activities